Skip to content


The War Dead of Australia

The total number of Australian war dead of the two world wars is 102,742. The countries in which the largest number of Australian war dead are commemorated are France (33,838), Belgium (12,952), Australia (12,181), Papua New Guinea (8,018) and Turkey (7,260).

Apart from Remembrance Day on 11 November, Australia also remembers her war dead on ANZAC Day, 25 April. Sites of National Remembrance are the Sydney Cenotaph, the Australian War Memorial in Canberra and the Shrine of Remembrance in Melbourne.

Office of Australian War Graves

The Office of Australian War Graves (OAWG) is a branch within the Australian Department of Veterans' Affairs. The OAWG acts as Australian agent for the CWGC. It is responsible for the maintenance of more than 20,000 graves of Commonwealth war dead in 76 war cemeteries & plots and in numerous civil cemeteries, as well as Memorials to the Missing listing over 3,000 names throughout Australia, Norfolk Island, Papua New Guinea and the Solomon Islands.

Useful Links

The Commission is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites.

Australian Defence Force

Department of Veterans' Affairs

Australian War Memorial

Returned and Services League

Office of Australian War Graves

Shrine of Remembrance

Australia's Membership of the CWGC