The Ypres Salient - CWGC

The original British Expeditionary Force (BEF), which crossed to France in August 1914 in accordance with pre-war military plans agreed with the French government, comprised four infantry divisions and five Brigades of cavalry. By the time of the Battle of the Aisne this force (commanded by Field Marshal Sir John French) had increased to six infantry divisions and a Cavalry Division.

The Order of Battle of the British Expeditionary Force (October 1914) [summary version]

I Corps (Lieutenant-General Sir D Haig).

1st Division (Major-General S H Lomax).

1st Guards Brigade
1st Coldstream Guards 1st Black Watch
1st Camerons The London Scottish (from 7 November 1914)

2nd Brigade
2nd Royal Sussex 1st Loyal North Lancs
1st Northampton 2nd King's Royal Rifle Corps

3rd Brigade
1st Queens 1st South Wales Borderers
1st Gloucesters 2nd Welch
4th Royal Welch Fusiliers (from 7 December 1914)

2nd Division (Major-General C C Monro).

4th Guards Brigade
2nd Grenadier Guards 3rd Coldstream Guards
1st Irish Guards 1st Hertfordshires (from 19 November 1914)

5th Brigade
2nd Worcesters 2nd Ox & Bucks Light Infantry
2nd Highland Light Infantry 2nd Connaught Rangers
9th Highland Light Infantry (from 24 November 1914)

6th Brigade
1st King's 2nd South Staffordshire
1st Royal Berkshires 1st King's Royal Rifle Corps
4th Royal Welch Fusiliers (from 7 December 1914)

II Corps (General Sir H L Smith-Dorrien).

3rd Division (Major-General Hubert I W Hamilton).

7th Brigade
3rd Worcesters 2nd South Lancs
1st Wiltshires 2nd Royal Irish Rifles

8th Brigade
2nd Royal Scots 2nd Royal Irish Regiment
4th Middlesex 1st Devons
1st Honourable Artillery Company (from 9 November 1914)

9th Brigade
1st Northumberland Fusiliers 4th Royal Fusiliers
1st Lincolns 1st Royal Scots Fusiliers
10th King's (from 25 November 1914)

5th Division (Major-General Sir C Fergusson).

13th Brigade
2nd Kings Own Scottish Borderers 2nd Duke of Wellington's Regiment
1st Royal West Kents 2nd King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry
1/9 London (Queen Victoria's Rifles - from 27 November 1914)

14th Brigade
2nd Suffolks 1st East Surreys
1st Duke of Cornwall's Light Infantry 2nd Manchesters

15th Brigade
1st Norfolks 1st Bedfords
1st Cheshires 1st Dorsets
6th Cheshires (from 11 December 1914)

III Corps (Major-General W P Pulteney).

4th Division (Major-General H F M Wilson).

10th Brigade
1st Warwicks 2nd Seaforths
1st Royal Irish Fusiliers 2nd Royal Dublin Fusiliers
7th Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders (from 6 January 1915)

11th Brigade
1st Somerset Light Infantry 1st East Lancs
1st Hampshire 1st Rifle Brigade
1st London Rifle Brigade (from 6 November 1914)

12th Brigade
1st King's Own Regiment 2nd Lancashire Fusiliers
2nd Inniskilling Fusiliers 2nd Essex Regiment
2nd Monmouthshire Regiment (from 21 December 1914)

6th Division (Major-General J L Keir).

16th Brigade
1st The Buffs 1st Leicesters
1st King's Shropshire Light Infantry 2nd York & Lancaster Regiment

17th Brigade
1st Royal Fusiliers 1st North Staffordshire Regiment
2nd Leinster Regiment 3rd Rifle Brigade

18th Brigade
1st West Yorks 1st East Yorks
2nd Sherwood Foresters 2nd Durham Light Infantry
1/16th London (Queen's Westminster Rifles) (from 11 November 1914)

19th Brigade
2nd Royal Welch Fusiliers 2nd Cameronians
1st Middlesex 2nd Argyll & Sutherland Highlanders
5th Cameronians (from 19 November 1914)

Cavalry Corps (Lieutenant-General E H H Allenby).

1st Cavalry Division (Major-General H de B de Lisle).

1st Cavalry Brigade
2nd Dragoon Guards (Queen's Bays) 5th (Princess Charlotte of Wales's) Dragoon Guards
11th (Prince Albert's Own) Hussars 1st Signal Troop

2nd Cavalry Brigade
4th Royal Irish (Dragoon Guards) 9th (Queen's Royal) Lancers
18th (Queen Mary's Own) Hussars 2nd Signal Troop

2nd Cavalry Division (Major-General H P de la Gough).

3rd Cavalry Brigade
4th (Queen's Own) Hussars 5th Royal Irish Lancers
16th (The Queen's) Lancers 3rd Signal Troop

4th Cavalry Brigade
Composite Regiment of Household Cavalry 6th Dragoon Guards
3rd (King's Own) Hussars 4th Signal Troop

5th Cavalry Brigade
2nd Dragoons (Royal Scots Greys) 12th (Prince of Wales's Royal) Lancers
20th Hussars 5th Signal Troop

IV Corps (Lieutenant-General Sir H S Rawlinson).

7th Division (Major-General T Capper).

20th Brigade
1st Grenadier Guards 2nd Scots Guards
2nd Border Regiment 2nd Gordon Highlanders

21st Brigade
2nd Bedfordshire Regiment 2nd Green Howards
2nd Royal Scots Fusiliers 2nd Wiltshire Regiment

22nd Brigade
2nd Queen's (Royal West Surrey) Regiment 2nd Royal Warwickshire Regiment
1st Royal Welch Fusiliers 1st South Staffordshire Regiment

3rd Cavalry Division (Major-General Hon J H G Byng).

6th Cavalry Brigade
3rd (Prince of Wales's) Dragoon Guards 1st Royal Dragoons
10th (Prince of Wales's Own Royal) Hussars

7th Cavalry Brigade
1st Life Guards
2nd Life Guards
Royal Horse Guards [to 8th Cavalry Brigade on 20 November 1914]
[from 12 November 1914] Leicestershire Yeomanry (Prince Albert's Own)

8th Division (Major-General F J Davies).

23rd Brigade
2nd Devonshire Regiment 2nd (Prince of Wales's Own) West Yorkshire Regiment
2nd Cameronians (Scottish Rifles) 2nd (Duke of Cambridge's Own) Middlesex Regiment

24th Brigade
1st Worcestershire Regiment 2nd East Lancashire Regiment
1st Sherwood Foresters (Nottinghamshire and Derbyshire Regiment) 2nd Northamptonshire Regiment

25th Brigade
2nd Lincolnshire Regiment 2nd (Princess Charlotte of Wales's) Royal Berkshire Regiment
1st Royal Irish Rifles) 2nd Rifle Brigade

Indian Corps (Lieutenant-General Sir J Willcocks).

The Lahore Division (Lieutenant-General H B B Watkis).

The Ferozepore Brigade
1st Connaught Rangers 9th Bhopal Infantry
57th Wilde's Rifles (Frontier Force) 129th Duke of Connaught's Own Baluchis

The Jullundur Brigade
1st Manchester Regiment 15th Ludhiana Sikhs
47th Sikhs 59th Scinde Rifles (Frontier Force)

The Sirhind Brigade
1st Highland Light Infantry 125th Napier's Rifles
1/1st King George's Own Gurkha Rifles (The Malaun Regiment) 1/4th Gurkha Rifles

The Meerut Division (Lieutenant-General C A Anderson).

The Dehra Dun Brigade
1st Seaforth Highlanders (Ross-shire Buffs, The Duke of Albany's) 6th Jat Light Infantry
2/2nd King Edward's Own Gurkha Rifles (The Sirmoor Rifles) 1/9th Gurkha Rifles

The Garhwal Brigade
2nd Leicestershire Regiment 1/39th Garhwal Rifles
2/39th Garhwal Rifles 2/3rd Queen Alexandra's Own Gurkha Rifles

The Bareilly Brigade
2nd Black Watch (Royal Highlanders) 41st Dogras
58th Vaughan's Rifles (Frontier Force) 2/8th Gurkha Rifles

Indian Cavalry Corps (Lieutenant-General M F Rimington).
(formed 18th December 1914)

1st Indian Cavalry Division (Major-General H D Fanshawe; 22nd December 1914).
(arrived France 7th November 1914)

Sialkot Cavalry Brigade
17th (Duke of Cambridge's Own) Lancers 6th King Edward's Own Cavalry
19th Lancers (Fane's Horse) Signal Troop

Ambala Cavalry Brigade
8th (King's Royal Irish) Hussars 9th Hodson's Horse
30th Lancers (Gordon's Horse) Signal Troop

Lucknow Cavalry Brigade
8th (King's) Dragoon Guards 29th Lancers (Deccan Horse)
36th Jacob's Horse) Signal Troop

2nd Indian Cavalry Division (Major-General G A Cookson).
(arrived France 14th November 1914)

Mhow Cavalry Brigade
6th (Inniskilling) Dragoons 2nd Lancers (Gardner's Horse)
38th King George's Own Central India Horse Signal Troop

Meerut Cavalry Brigade
13th Hussars 3rd Skinner's Horse)
18th King George's Own Lancers Signal Troop

Secunderabad Cavalry Brigade
7th (Princess Royal's) Dragoon Guards 20th Deccan Horse
34th Prince Albert Victor's Own Poona Horse Signal Troop


Home  |  About CWGC  |  Site Map  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Ts & Cs  |  Credits  |  Accessibility