The Committee’s mandate – agreed by our six member Governments - is to produce a report by March 2021, setting out the definitive position of the CWGC regarding the commemoration by name of all Empire war dead of the two World Wars; identifying gaps, and proposing how these can be rectified. The Committee will present the final report to the Commission for approval and implementation.

The Commission is committed to doing the right thing, and addressing any deficits in commemoration which are identified.

Its membership, supported by

  • Sir Tim Hitchens, Commissioner (Chair)
  • Terry Denham
  • Selena Carty
  • Dr Gavin Rand
  • Edward Paice
  • Prof Mark Connelly
  • Shrabani Basu
  • Dr Adam Prime
  • Dr Anne Sampson
  • Dr Daniel Steinbach
  • Amandeep Madra
  • Dr Kevin Searle
  • Blondel Cluff
  • Trevor Phillips