The cemetery was designed by Sir Herbert Baker, who was also the architect of the South African National Memorial. His ‘sense of reverence and eternal peace’ was one of the reasons the Commission chose him. Arthur James Scott Hutton was Assistant Architect and sculpture by Alfred Turner is also featured.


At the entrance to the cemetery stands a  Cross of Sacrifice with a Stone of Remembrance in the middle of the central aisle. 

The memorial has similar architectural characteristics of other war memorials such as a curving wall of flint and stone. Yet it is distinct as it has no name panels and is set apart from the cemetery.

Architects and Designers

Sir Herbert Baker, James Scott Hutton, Alfred Turner

Sir Herbert Baker

Sir Herbert Baker

Sir Herbert Baker was born in 1862. As one of the first three Principal Architects, he designed Tyne Cot Cemetery and its memorial in Belgium. Tyne Cot Cemetery is the largest CWGC cemetery in the world. His other work for the Commission includes Loos Memorial, Adanac Military Cemetery and Neuve Chapelle Memorial. He also worked in India and South Africa, where he designed a number of government buildings.