Wreath laying ceremony commemorating five Australian soldiers

28 March 2018 , 14:30 - 15:00

Wreath laying ceremony to commemorate five Australian soldiers who died on 28 March 1918 and are buried in La Cauchie Communal Cemetery.

La Cauchie Communal Cemetery

The ceremony will commemorate:

  • Corporal Richard Spearing
  • Private Edward Ellis Smith
  • Private Walter Natanael Peterson
  • Private David William Orchard
  • Private James Oliver Lugton

Pupils from Marguerite Berger School and a representative from the Australian Embassy will attend the ceremony.

Latest News

A burial service was held at CWGC Orchard Dump Cemetery in France, today for two First World War soldiers.

A burial service for First World War soldier Private (Pte) Thomas Edmundson was held at CWGC Perth Cemetery (China Wall) in Belgium this morning.

The son and grandchildren of a Second World War pilot previously buried as an ‘Unknown Polish Airmen’ attended a rededication service at his grave on the 75th anniversary of his death.